Faculty & Staff

The faculty and staff at the Brooklyn Waldorf School are an energetic team of educators. Our teachers are Waldorf trained and have taught in Waldorf schools all around the world. They bring their combined experience to form a rich Waldorf curriculum here in Brooklyn. Together we learn from each other’s experiences and are motivated to work with cooperation and enthusiasm. Collaboration in planning and action encourages a school-wide interest and a deep feeling of responsibility for all aspects of BWS.

Teachers are guided by, and work within, a Waldorf school framework that gives indications toward curriculum, school communication and structure. All staff are encouraged and supported to continue on a path of lifelong learning.

To learn more about our faculty and staff, click on an individual’s name to read his or her biography.


Early Childhood


Meggan Gill, Lead Teacher
Cecelia Torres, Assistant



Gun Blue, Lead Teacher
Willow Westwood, Assistant



Monika Stanislawek, Lead Teacher
William Fortini, Assistant


Monica Sibrizzi, Lead Teacher
Nneka Maginley, Assistant


Sarah Alt, Lead Teacher
Jenn Wilenta, Assistant


Zohar Apple, Lead Teacher
Gillian Zagorski, Assistant

Lower School

Allison Stovall, First Grade Class Teacher
Ourania Adani, First Grade Assistant Teacher

Joy Itiola, Second Grade Class Teacher

Kelly Beekman, Third Grade Class Teacher
Hank Mittnacht, Third Grade Assistant Teacher

Steven Simonak, Fourth Grade Class Teacher

Lidija Juka, Fifth Grade Class Teacher

William McKay, Sixth Grade Class Teacher

Christine Byrd, Seventh Grade Class Teacher

Betsy Gimenez, Eighth Grade Class Teacher

Specialty Subjects

Laetitia Berrier-Saarbach, Eurythmy Teacher

Chris Castelli, Mathematics & Technology Teacher

Orlando Colón, Movement Teacher
and Athletic Director

Jayanthi Bunyan, Music Teacher

Bing Han, Mandarin Chinese Teacher

Sibylle Johner, Music Director & Orchestra Teacher

Laura Montaño, Handwork Teacher

Constanza Ontaneda, Spanish Teacher

Chikako Miyoshi, Handwork Assistant

Dorke Poelz, Early Childhood After Care Assistant and Library Assistant

Martina Bonolis, Auxiliary/Community Outreach Programs and High School Placement Counselor

Learning Support Team

Liz Baring, Psychotherapist

Hannah Bleier, Educational Support Teacher

Christina Pantazis-Blades, Learning Support Chair

Roberta Perlin, Learning Support Specialist


David Bivins

Manena Frazier


Randy Yuen, President

Alex Blades, Treasurer

Jeanne Baron

Meggan Gill, Faculty Representative

Denese Giordano, Administrative Representative

Cynthia Hammond

Mary Handerhan, Administrative Representative

Konrad Meissner

Christina Pantazis-Blades, Administrative Representative

Sinclair Smith



Christina Pantazis-Blades, Admissions Director

Sheila Shaw, Admissions Associate

Business Office

Mary Handerhan, Business Director

Lena Lvova, Business Office Associate

Annie Ng, Business Office Coordinator

Community Development

Denese Giordano, Administrative Director

Leecia Manning, Special Events Coordinator

Franco Pedicini, Communications Manager


Denese Giordano, Administrative Director

Sinéad Hennessy, Administrative Assistant

Tim Kacic, Building Superintendent

Justino Garcia, Cleaning Associate

Pedro Genao, Cleaning Supervisor

Emily Maynor, Front Desk/Office Support Associate

Cynthia Montalvo, Operations Coordinator

Kyron Parris, Front Desk Lead/Building Support